Jump to content


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


IT'S OFFICIAL: Cam Wins AP Rookie of the Year!

Recommended Posts

Carolina Panthers quarterback Cam Newton has won the 2011 Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award.

Newton is the second straight No. 1 overall draft pick to take the honor in voting by a nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the league. Rams QB Sam Bradford won it last year.

The first Panther to take the award, Newton received 47 votes to three for Cincinnati quarterback Andy Dalton.

Newton set an NFL record for touchdowns rushing in a season by a quarterback with 14 and became the first player in league history to throw for 4,000 yards and rush for 500. He helped Carolina improve from 2-14 to 6-10, throwing for 21 touchdowns.

No quarterback had won the award until Ben Roethlisberger in 2004. Since, Vince Young, Matt Ryan, Bradford and Newton have been chosen.


Looks like the press release got out early! :cam: :cam: :cam:

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Not shocking.

What's shocking is that no QB won the award until Big Ben in 2004.

And that three people actually voted for Andy Dalton.


47 votes for Cam, 3 for Dalton...but...but..the winz!

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

So obviously the Ohio media member voted for Dalton which is understandable. But who are the other two douches who didn't vote for Cam?

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
    • Most Online

    Newest Member
  • Topics