Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Good Reads

60 posts in this topic

Posted

This will cover the sci-fi thread too.

Nerdish books are preferred.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I'm currently reading "Devil in the White City". I like the history based stuff. "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" is still one of my recent favorites as well as "Marks of Cain", "The Genesis Secret" and "The Lost Symbol".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Just read these on my Kindle:

Wool (Books 1-5) by Hugh Howey - great story about a future in a poisoned world. People are surviving in underground silos. This could be a good movie.

The Old Man and The Wasteland by Nick Cole - another post-apocalyptic story, in the vein of The Old Man and The Sea. Terrorists nuked cities in the US. Story takes place 40 years later in the desert southwest.

:cool:

:D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Just read these on my Kindle:

Wool (Books 1-5) by Hugh Howey - great story about a future in a poisoned world. People are surviving in underground silos. This could be a good movie.

The Old Man and The Wasteland by Nick Cole - another post-apocalyptic story, in the vein of The Old Man and The Sea. Terrorists nuked cities in the US. Story takes place 40 years later in the desert southwest.

:cool:

:D

Hey, deja vu... I've read that ^ somewhere else... :D

Not reading any great books at the moment, need to get back into it, but there's too much on TV I want to watch now and with the DVR I'm watching my shows in the evenings right now...

If any of you like to read on the PC, there are some really good online stories...

I'm sure some of you have heard of Al Steiner...

http://storiesonline.net/library/universe.php?id=214

You might have to sign up for an account to access that, but it's free...

Pretty much any of his stories are excellent... some adult content/sex in some, but I'm sure you pervs won't mind that.

As far as actual books to get... we've talked about this a lot in the Sci-Fi thread, but the Hyperion series by Dan Simmons is THE best set of books I've ever read.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

biscuit likes romance novels

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

biscuit likes romance novels with naked chicks and hot sex

fify

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Only 1/2 way thru this one....in one night.

I enjoy a lot of books to varying degree, but few keep me up at night to the point where I look at the clock and get pissed after I realize I am awake at 2:00 and the alarm is going off in 3 hours.

Last night was like that with this book...

http://www.amazon.com/Outlaw-Platoon-Renegades-Brotherhood-Afghanistan/dp/0062066390/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

^ heard that guy on Opie and Anthony. Amazing story. Next on my list.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Only 1/2 way thru this one....in one night.

I enjoy a lot of books to varying degree, but few keep me up at night to the point where I look at the clock and get pissed after I realize I am awake at 2:00 and the alarm is going off in 3 hours.

Last night was like that with this book...

http://www.amazon.co..._pr_product_top

I really enjoyed Lone Survivor. I'm going to make this my next read. Thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Interesting take on the war in Afghanistan by a guy that has been there and done that

http://www.amazon.co...n/dp/1400068738

Apparently some youtubage available

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I really enjoyed Lone Survivor. I'm going to make this my next read. Thanks.

Currently reading 'Lone Survivor', really enjoyed the Seal BUD/s training part of it... a bit political in places, but that's understandable...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites