Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Good Reads


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 Kurb

Kurb

    I hit it.

  • Administrators
  • 13,514 posts
  • LocationILM

Posted 07 March 2012 - 10:39 AM

This will cover the sci-fi thread too.
Nerdish books are preferred.

#2 Kettle

Kettle

    I'm Stainless.

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,365 posts
  • LocationThe Brew Wing

Posted 07 March 2012 - 10:42 AM

I'm currently reading "Devil in the White City". I like the history based stuff. "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" is still one of my recent favorites as well as "Marks of Cain", "The Genesis Secret" and "The Lost Symbol".

#3 catfang

catfang

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,266 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:12 AM

Just read these on my Kindle:

Wool (Books 1-5) by Hugh Howey - great story about a future in a poisoned world. People are surviving in underground silos. This could be a good movie.

The Old Man and The Wasteland by Nick Cole - another post-apocalyptic story, in the vein of The Old Man and The Sea. Terrorists nuked cities in the US. Story takes place 40 years later in the desert southwest.

:cool:

:D

#4 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,968 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:19 AM

Just read these on my Kindle:

Wool (Books 1-5) by Hugh Howey - great story about a future in a poisoned world. People are surviving in underground silos. This could be a good movie.

The Old Man and The Wasteland by Nick Cole - another post-apocalyptic story, in the vein of The Old Man and The Sea. Terrorists nuked cities in the US. Story takes place 40 years later in the desert southwest.

:cool:

:D



Hey, deja vu... I've read that ^ somewhere else... :D



Not reading any great books at the moment, need to get back into it, but there's too much on TV I want to watch now and with the DVR I'm watching my shows in the evenings right now...

If any of you like to read on the PC, there are some really good online stories...

I'm sure some of you have heard of Al Steiner...

http://storiesonline...erse.php?id=214

You might have to sign up for an account to access that, but it's free...

Pretty much any of his stories are excellent... some adult content/sex in some, but I'm sure you pervs won't mind that.


As far as actual books to get... we've talked about this a lot in the Sci-Fi thread, but the Hyperion series by Dan Simmons is THE best set of books I've ever read.

#5 Epistaxis

Epistaxis

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,182 posts

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:20 AM

Thanks kurbie :)

I just finished
http://www.amazon.co...s/dp/159420165X
Very good. Very difficult to get thru. Not light or happy reading but worth it.

Working on
http://www.amazon.co...31137094&sr=1-1
Also good, written by a British EOD officer in Iraq.

#6 Kettle

Kettle

    I'm Stainless.

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,365 posts
  • LocationThe Brew Wing

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:22 AM

biscuit likes romance novels

#7 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,968 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 07 March 2012 - 11:29 AM

biscuit likes romance novels with naked chicks and hot sex


fify

#8 Epistaxis

Epistaxis

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,182 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 01:43 PM

Only 1/2 way thru this one....in one night.

I enjoy a lot of books to varying degree, but few keep me up at night to the point where I look at the clock and get pissed after I realize I am awake at 2:00 and the alarm is going off in 3 hours.

Last night was like that with this book...

http://www.amazon.co..._pr_product_top

#9 catfang

catfang

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,266 posts

Posted 13 March 2012 - 01:52 PM

^ heard that guy on Opie and Anthony. Amazing story. Next on my list.

#10 Doyle

Doyle

    Headed to the county line

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,095 posts
  • LocationRiverboat Rivera

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:11 AM

Only 1/2 way thru this one....in one night.

I enjoy a lot of books to varying degree, but few keep me up at night to the point where I look at the clock and get pissed after I realize I am awake at 2:00 and the alarm is going off in 3 hours.

Last night was like that with this book...

http://www.amazon.co..._pr_product_top


I really enjoyed Lone Survivor. I'm going to make this my next read. Thanks.

#11 Epistaxis

Epistaxis

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,182 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 04:14 PM

Interesting take on the war in Afghanistan by a guy that has been there and done that

http://www.amazon.co...n/dp/1400068738

Apparently some youtubage available



#12 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,968 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 12 April 2012 - 07:10 PM

I really enjoyed Lone Survivor. I'm going to make this my next read. Thanks.


Currently reading 'Lone Survivor', really enjoyed the Seal BUD/s training part of it... a bit political in places, but that's understandable...

#13 Epistaxis

Epistaxis

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,182 posts

Posted 16 April 2012 - 04:55 PM

Hm.

Well, yeah.

I recommend anyone that reads Lone Survivor should also read


http://www.amazon.co...n/dp/0425226190

It tells, more, shall we say of the story.

VERY good book.

And that's all I have to say about that.

#14 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,968 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 16 April 2012 - 07:00 PM

LS was good but I really wish he'd have left the political stuff out of it... Just stuck to the story and the tales of those heroic guys involved. I'll definitely check out that book, thanks Epi.

#15 Epistaxis

Epistaxis

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,182 posts

Posted 17 April 2012 - 12:54 PM

I have no issue with the political stuff.

Many accounts have them.

My issue was with the writing. Clearly, Robinson did Mr. Luttrell no favors. I guess that is what you get when a fiction writer of action/adventure novels is tabbed to write a nonfiction account.

Should have had Couch or someone with credibility AND skill do the job.

It reads like a Mack Bolan novel intended for 6th grade boys.

Scratch that, I kinda liked Mack back in the day.

I just think marcus and his Team deserved better.
Just cuz it was a NYT bestseller doesn't make it well written.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Shop at Amazon Contact Us: info@carolinahuddle.com