Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SZ James (banned)

MNF: Green Bay Packers @ Seattle Seahawks

89 posts in this topic

Reporter to Tate..."did you push off at the end". Tate..."I don't know what you're talking about...I don't know what you're talking about"....You know damn well what she's talking about...man I hope we beat these guys....

Onochutalbout. - Golden Tate

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"It's not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first & and the opponent subsequently gains joint control."

Can't have control in the AIR must have both feet on the ground that did not happen! Simultaneously when both players are on the ground it's not a catch in the air! Touchdown Seattle the Refs got it right by the rules like it or not!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The referee who made the touchdown call came from behind so he didn't have a clear initial view of the football until they were rolling around.. Once he actually made the call of a touchdown, he determined it was a simultaneous catch. If he was on the other side where the other referee was, he would have called a touchback. It was a split second moment and he made a call based on his position on the field and the interpretation of the rule book. I wouldn't fault him entirely.

I think the blame needs to whoever made the review. Since it was a scoring play on the last play of the game, I do not know if it is the head referee or "upstairs" makes the final determination. All I know that who ever it was, it was that person's fault.

My question is, is this worse than the Tuck Rule?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing lost in the hubbub: Whatever happened to batting the ball down?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing lost in the hubbub: Whatever happened to batting the ball down?

The Lions/Titans game was a prime example that damned if you do, damned if you dont

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've seen a couple pretty good pictures that clearly show Jennings and Tate both with their hands on the ball and Tate's feet on the ground while Jennings is still in the air. I'm pretty comfortable with the simultaneous call. However, it was clearly offensive pass interference on Tate before the ball arrives that should have been flagged and wiped out the play and ended the game...nobody can argue that point.

As for post game...what do you expect him to say...ya...I pushed him...I'm gonna talk to coach and we're going to try to get that call reversed! come on...that ain't happening.

poo calls all game long. both sides

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

agreed...but even as a Seahawk fan, that one was pretty blatant and right in front of the official!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites