Posted 25 September 2012 - 10:07 AM
The referee who made the touchdown call came from behind so he didn't have a clear initial view of the football until they were rolling around.. Once he actually made the call of a touchdown, he determined it was a simultaneous catch. If he was on the other side where the other referee was, he would have called a touchback. It was a split second moment and he made a call based on his position on the field and the interpretation of the rule book. I wouldn't fault him entirely.
I think the blame needs to whoever made the review. Since it was a scoring play on the last play of the game, I do not know if it is the head referee or "upstairs" makes the final determination. All I know that who ever it was, it was that person's fault.
My question is, is this worse than the Tuck Rule?