Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

These refs have got to go

160 posts in this topic

Posted

S/N: If I told you before the season we would have the same record as the packers,steelers,patriots and a better one than the saints would you have taken it?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Man, the Packers should have made a statement. They shouldn't have come back for the extra point. These coaches have been complaining non-stop, yet when you have a chance to make a bold statement, you don't do it? Having the Seahawks kick an extra point without the Packers on the field, would have been the lasting image of these replacement refs. The Packers missed there chance there.

wouldn't the Packers get disqualified for that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That game was GREAT! No crying, very entertaining, great finish!

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Man, the Packers should have made a statement. They shouldn't have come back for the extra point. These coaches have been complaining non-stop, yet when you have a chance to make a bold statement, you don't do it? Having the Seahawks kick an extra point without the Packers on the field, would have been the lasting image of these replacement refs. The Packers missed there chance there.

I agree.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

From what I understand it doesn't have to be simultaneous initially, just before defender would be considered down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

wouldn't the Packers get disqualified for that?

What do you mean by disqualified?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

The best thing about this fiasco is that the Packers are going to fume all week and then ram the Saints with no lube whatsoever.

4 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That game was GREAT! No crying, very entertaining, great finish!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

I thought you couldn't get possession of the ball in the air. If you catch the ball in the air but you can't bring it to the ground, it's never called a catch then fumble. It's an incomplete pass. That's the way it's always been. Tate reached in while the defender was still in the air. I don't see why that wouldn't be considered simultaneous.

A catch is not completed until the player is down and maintains possession. That is true. And yes, the rule is the tie on simultaneous possession goes to the receiver. But in this case there was no tie. The defender had the ball intercepted and kept possession all the way to the ground. He had both his hands on it. Only after it was intercepted did Tate reach in and also get his two hands on the remaining parts of the ball.

At least, that is how I would have ruled in my unprofessional capacity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

What do you mean by disqualified?

Well, if one team doesn't show up to a game, do they make one team play out the full game by themselves or do they just disqualify the other team for not showing up? I know an offense can run a play with less than 11 defenders on the field, but I've never seen a situation where a defense sends nobody onto the field. I'm just curious what would happen if a team refuses to continue to play. Anybody know what the rule is on this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

A catch is not completed until the player is down and maintains possession. That is true. And yes, the rule is the tie on simultaneous possession goes to the receiver. But in this case there was no tie. The defender had the ball intercepted and kept possession all the way to the ground. He had both his hands on it. Only after it was intercepted did Tate reach in and also get his two hands on the remaining parts of the ball.

At least, that is how I would have ruled in my unprofessional capacity.

Tate still reached in while Jennings was still in the air. You can't "complete" an interception while still in the air, the same way a receiver can't complete a pass before making it to the ground. Jennings shouldn't have left it up for discussion and should have just batted the pass down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

The best thing about this fiasco is that the Packers are going to fume all week and then ram the Saints with no lube whatsoever.

1314368213740.jpg

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites