Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SteveSmithTD89

These refs have got to go

159 posts in this topic

Tate still reached in while Jennings was still in the air. You can't "complete" an interception while still in the air, the same way a receiver can't complete a pass before making it to the ground.

I'll bet tomorrow, the vast majority of football analysts agree with me that GB got jobbed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jesus megdeth are you just trying to be a contrarian or are you really that stupid?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll bet tomorrow, the vast majority of football analysts agree with me that GB got jobbed.

I can analyze football too. I don't care. GB getting jobbed is a more interesting story anyhow. They're automatically going to go down that route. They don't care about being right.

Jesus megdeth are you just trying to be a contrarian or are you really that stupid?

Not sure how I upset you. You could always disagree and say why. That would be cool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A catch is not completed until the player is down and maintains possession. That is true. And yes, the rule is the tie on simultaneous possession goes to the receiver. But in this case there was no tie. The defender had the ball intercepted and kept possession all the way to the ground. He had both his hands on it. Only after it was intercepted did Tate reach in and also get his two hands on the remaining parts of the ball.

At least, that is how I would have ruled in my unprofessional capacity.

Yep.

It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control.

hOrH7.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If both players have their hands on the ball, regardless of who has "more" of a possession, doesn't the ball automatically go to the receiver? I thought that was the rule so that there would never be any doubt or a judgement call on this. Am I making this stuff up? I'm pretty sure I read this somewhere.

not only that, but what ISN'T being mentioned, the player must go to the ground with control of the ball. The defensive back didn't have solo possession going to the ground. Rule reads, the catch goes to the offense. Period.

This is why the defensive back just should have batted the ball away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

not only that, but what ISN'T being mentioned, the player must go to the ground with control of the ball. The defensive back didn't have solo possession going to the ground. Rule reads, the catch goes to the offense. Period.

This is why the defensive back just should have batted the ball away.

Not true. If the defender establishes control of the ball first and the receiver gets it back, it's not considered simultaneous possession. It's an interception.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5

"If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control,"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

it's weird because the review people upstairs are the regular guys from years past; you would think they would have told the booth ref that that was a clear interception.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Watched the entire fourth quarter.

Pretty fricking exciting game.

I don't feel bad for the Packers. Boo hoo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites