Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Golden Tate's Game Winning Touchdown

44 posts in this topic

Posted

Everyone is talking about how he took his right hand off the ball and put it back on to get possession, but has anyone else noticed his left hand, from what i've seen, is firmly on the ball as Jennings brings it in to his body. Where is the line drawn for possession? Do you have to have both hands on the ball or is it ok to claim possession with one hand? Jennings definitely dominated the ball, but with the rules of simultaneous possession where is the line drawn?

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

idk what all that fancy football speak means but RUSSELL WILSON BRO YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That was a Hail Mary throw if there was every one.

Great ending to the game.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

This is the type of play that I want my kids to be witness over orchestra music with Steve Sabol's voice with it when the time comes.

RIP Steve.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Not a catch. Tate had no possession till Jennings was down by contact. NFL is a joke. This after the Ravens win a game on a missed field goal. Can't wait to see what's next.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

That's not even "simultaneous possession". Tate didn't have anything remotely close to possession until Jennings was laying on the ground. Touching the ball does not qualify for possession...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Refereeing aside, an example of why they coach you to knock it down instead of trying for the interception.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

As former NFL ref Jim Tunney called it last night, the first rule of simultaneous possession is both players must have both hands on the ball. That did not occur until Jennings had secured the ball to his body and was down, therefore, no simultaneous possession.

The fact this was such a blatantly blown call is only the icing on the cake for a final 3 minutes that was riddled with blown/bad/missed calls. Before the interception was even made, watch Tate shove Shields to the ground from behind when the ball is in the air- offensive pass interference. Interception in the end zone with no time left- game over.

This comes after an obvious offensive pass interference earlier in the quarter when Tate had both his hands wrapped around Shields, who had inside position and knocked the ball down on a 3rd and 17 play. Refs called defensive PI and gave Seattle a first down. 4th down, punt to Green Bay, game over.

Then the phantom roughing the passer call when Green Bay made the sideline interception after Wilson was flushed from the pocket being chased by a DB. Wilson was running at an angle toward to sideline and line of scrimmage and the DB dove to tackle him around the calves. Only when a QB is standing in the pocket and a defensive player goes low is it considered roughing (the Tom Brady rule). In this case, the QB was a running back and there should have been a no call. Interception Green Bay- game over.

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Simultaneously when both players are on the ground it's not a catch in the AIR! Touchdown Seattle the Refs got it right by the rules like it or not!

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

As former NFL ref Jim Tunney called it last night, the first rule of simultaneous possession is both players must have both hands on the ball. That did not occur until Jennings had secured the ball to his body and was down, therefore, no simultaneous possession.

The fact this was such a blatantly blown call is only the icing on the cake for a final 3 minutes that was riddled with blown/bad/missed calls. Before the interception was even made, watch Tate shove Shields to the ground from behind when the ball is in the air- offensive pass interference. Interception in the end zone with no time left- game over.

This comes after an obvious offensive pass interference earlier in the quarter when Tate had both his hands wrapped around Shields, who had inside position and knocked the ball down on a 3rd and 17 play. Refs called defensive PI and gave Seattle a first down. 4th down, punt to Green Bay, game over.

Then the phantom roughing the passer call when Green Bay made the sideline interception after Wilson was flushed from the pocket being chased by a DB. Wilson was running at an angle toward to sideline and line of scrimmage and the DB dove to tackle him around the calves. Only when a QB is standing in the pocket and a defensive player goes low is it considered roughing (the Tom Brady rule). In this case, the QB was a running back and there should have been a no call. Interception Green Bay- game over.

^^^^

the game was gift-wrapped for seattle

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Packers bandwagon fans annoy me so I'm glad they lost.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted

Simultaneously when both players are on the ground it's not a catch in the AIR! Touchdown Seattle the Refs got it right by the rules like it or not!

http://abcnews.go.co...25#.UGH3-lFjuSo

The NFL conceded Tuesday that a bad call cost the Green Bay Packers the game while upholding the Seattle Seahawks' victory.

NFL disagrees with you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites