Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Future of the Funchise

Golden Tate's Game Winning Touchdown

43 posts in this topic

There's a difference between being contrarian and being dumb.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://abcnews.go.co...25#.UGH3-lFjuSo

NFL disagrees with you.

No the NFL conceded the no call on Pass Interference cost GB the game not the catch rule NFL said that by rule it was correct.

Why can't anyone realize that possesion isn't awarded in mid air. Tate Had his hands on the ball and to his chest just as Jennings did. In fact Tates hand sperated Jennings chest from the ball, and the Replay shows that Tate pulled the ball AND Jennings down with him. Jennings had to fall akwardly just to maintain his grip on the ball because Tate had it to. The refs made the right call as improbable as it seems. The Key factor is when possesion is awarded- WHen that time came they both had the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No the NFL conceded the no call on Pass Interference cost GB the game not the catch rule NFL said that by rule it was correct.

Why can't anyone realize that possesion isn't awarded in mid air. Tate Had his hands on the ball and to his chest just as Jennings did. In fact Tates hand sperated Jennings chest from the ball, and the Replay shows that Tate pulled the ball AND Jennings down with him. Jennings had to fall akwardly just to maintain his grip on the ball because Tate had it to. The refs made the right call as improbable as it seems. The Key factor is when possesion is awarded- WHen that time came they both had the ball.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:

Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

Possession is irrelvant. Jennings jumped in the air and got both hands on the ball first, giving him control. Under the rule that isn't a simultaneous catch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ya...good argument...until you see that after Jennings originally caught the ball, Tate got his hands on it too and got his feet on the ground first...now who has possession?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seahwak fans and/or Green Bay haters cannot be expected to comprehend facts and should not be expected to remove the glasses that cloud objective views.

The 4th quarter was riddled with horrible calls that a Pop Warner kid could have made correctly, and the most egregious of which wasn't the final call of the game. It was the PI call on Shields on that 3rd and 17 pass.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

there were lots of shitty calls all game long that went both ways. Tate should have been called for offensive pass interference on that final play and the rest of the play would have been irrelevant and the game would have been over with a Green Bay win.

I'm home team biased just like anyone else, but I'm also objective!!! Could make the same argument that prior to the green bay touchdown there was a horrible pass interference that turned what should have been a 4th down to a first down that extended the play and led to their touchdown. It was bad all game long.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

ya...good argument...until you see that after Jennings originally caught the ball, Tate got his hands on it too and got his feet on the ground first...now who has possession?

Rule says nothing about who got their feet down first. Unless Jennings lost the ball, him getting control of it first is the only part that matters.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I disagree...possession includes feet on the ground. I will see if I can find it, but one of the clips I saw was from the other angle and you can clearly see Tate has his hands on the ball as well.

At the end of the day, I really could care less....Seattle got the W...and we could argue all day long as to whether or not they should have but just like every other team out there...they've lost games that they shouldn't have either.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All that matters is what was called. In my opinion the pass was intercepted as well as a failed pass interference call on Golden Tate. In the end the Seahawks still have the W.

family_guy_spiderman.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites