Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question re: Stewart fumble play

22 posts in this topic

Posted · Report post

I was drinking and can't recall when it happened, but the play where Stew fumbled near the sidelines after getting a first down, but was then recovered behind the first down marker so it was called as a 3rd down and we punted. My question is could Rivera have challenged that Stewart was actually out of bounds when he recovered the ball, so it should have been ruled down at the spot of the fumble so it would have been a first? Does anybody know the rule on this?

My bad if this has already been discussed/mentioned in some other thread.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

wouldn't he have been flagged for illegal touching though?

edit: nm they couldn't flag a play after replay review. what the fug was i thinking

you know that's an interesting possibility

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

ya, london...that's what I was thinking too, that it should have been illegal touching...settle down Grits...not that kind of illegal touching. Was clearly out of bounds and then came back in and was the first on the ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='Montsta' timestamp='1349908413' post='1943017']
I was drinking and can't recall when it happened, but the play where Stew fumbled near the sidelines after getting a first down, but was then recovered behind the first down marker so it was called as a 3rd down and we punted. My question is could Rivera have challenged that Stewart was actually out of bounds when he recovered the ball, so it should have been ruled down at the spot of the fumble so it would have been a first? Does anybody know the rule on this?

My bad if this has already been discussed/mentioned in some other thread.
[/quote]

Would of been a penalty on Stewart which would of pushed us backwards.
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

Oh ok I thought I read somewhere that on a fumble the illegal touching didn't apply. So even if Stew would have just swatted it OOB he coulda got the illegal touching flag anyway?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='CRA' timestamp='1349909086' post='1943037']


Would of been a penalty on Stewart which would of pushed us backwards.
[/quote]

But if they didn't call the penalty initially aren't they not allowed to assess a penalty because of review?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

I suspect Rivera didn't want to challenge because the replay would have revealed that Stewart didn't re-establish himself in bounds before recovering the fumble...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='Montsta' timestamp='1349909223' post='1943040']


But if they didn't call the penalty initially aren't they not allowed to assess a penalty because of review?
[/quote]

They overturned a NE touchdown bc of an illegal touch during a standard scoring review this year.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='CRA' timestamp='1349909601' post='1943048']
They overturned a NE touchdown bc of an illegal touch during a standard scoring review this year.
[/quote]

what would happen in this case though since it wasn't a scoring play? i don't know if it'd be ball placed at the spot of the touch in light of the illegal touch seen in the replay or ball placed at the spot of the fumble because there wasn't a "clear recovery" in the sense of an eligible player recovering the ball when the play was whistled dead on the field.
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

that's what I was wondering when I first saw it too...if the illegal touching was called...would they overturn the recovery and give the ball at that spot to the Hawks or just add on the penalty. Not sure if I remember that happening before...but then...my memory card is full and slow
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='CatMan72' timestamp='1349909510' post='1943045']
I suspect Rivera didn't want to challenge because the replay would have revealed that Stewart didn't re-establish himself in bounds before recovering the fumble...
[/quote]


mmmm..... doubtful... I don't believe Rivera would be smart enough to think that way. He was probably texting at the time.
1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Posted · Report post

[quote name='london67' timestamp='1349909834' post='1943056']


what would happen in this case though since it wasn't a scoring play? i don't know if it'd be ball placed at the spot of the touch in light of the illegal touch seen in the replay or ball placed at the spot of the fumble because there wasn't a "clear recovery" in the sense of an eligible player recovering the ball when the play was whistled dead on the field.
[/quote]

This scenario is exactly what intrigued me regarding this play. There are so many odd rules in the NFL I like to discuss ones I don't know or understand so that I feel like I have a better grasp/knowledge of the game. And the threads here have all been kill the FO threads so I thought if someone could provide some intelligent insight that'd be pretty cool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites