13 replies to this topic

#1 lightsout

lightsout

Doin' stuff...thaaaangs

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,683 posts

Posted 18 October 2012 - 09:27 PM

Wanted to go somewhere to celebrate a recent victory, so here is the good news.

I'm a 3-time transfer student at my FINAL school (I swear!), and I changed majors a week ago from Physical Education to Criminal Justice. Being a cop was the childhood dream, and between transferring and my bitch of an ex making me second-guess teaching (she is a teacher, so it leaves a bad taste in my mouth thinking about it; plus, the way the education field is going, finding a PE job is going to be way too hard), I just lost interest in teaching. It started as a passion, and I decided "screw it, it might put me another year behind getting this other degree, but so be it". I went to see my academic adviser today, and he pretty much gave me free reign to fill out my schedule on my own, giving me a small list of must-have courses for next semester (3, to be exact). I am taking 15 hours next semester, and my first two criminal justice courses are involved in that.

Now, the good news about all of this. I submitted an audit to see how many more hours I have, as of this minute. 48. That's 3 hard semesters, hours wise. However, take out that 15 for next semester, I'm down to 33. That's one hard semester and one fairly easy semester. I'm quite possibly/most likely graduating a year from next semester. This makes me more excited than I can express. I've been through a HELL of a lot the past 5 years, and to see the end so near (finally), it's seriously a sigh of relief.

Here's to my stick-to-itiveness. Any suggestions on what counties I should shoot for for police work? I've lived in Pender, Duplin, Cumberland, Marion, New Hanover, Cleveland (currently live there), and Gaston, and I know the surrounding counties fairly well for each. Any that I should look into?

#2 Guest_Super_Freak_*

Guest_Super_Freak_*
  • Guests