Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Black

Why was the Palmer Hit a Penalty?

75 posts in this topic

See what you hit? His eyes are up, he can clearly see what he's hitting. And try keeping your helmet out of a tackle, you supposed to be leaning your head back while tackling

Exactly. I am having a hard time figuring out how you lead with your pads without your helmet touching their body.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Exactly. I am having a hard time figuring out how you lead with your pads without your helmet touching their body.

My solution is that QBs have side-ribcage airbags .. We all win.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Perhaps this thread should be merged with the fines thread where the actual rule is quoted and the discussion's pretty much the same.

Answer is:

- hit opponent with his helmet (doesn't matter which part) first

- was judged to be unnecessarily violent (as opposed to wrapping up with shoulders and arms)

- had to be more than just a flag after it removed their QB from the game (and ended his season)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What you said above is key: HE PUT HIS *FACEMASK* INTO PALMERS RIBS.

NOT the crown of his helmet.

Leading with the crown of your helmet (i.e. spearing) is and should be a penalty.

Read the rule:

(f) If a player uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) or facemask...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was not a penalty... it was the kind of tackle the NFL was using as an example of a textbook tackle. It was violent, when a 290 man hits someone from the blindside it's never gonna be pretty.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Read the rule:

You forgot to finish that rule:

(f) If a player uses any part of his helmet (including the top/crown and forehead/”hairline” parts) or facemask to butt, spear, or ram an opponent violently or unnecessarily.

Doesn't apply.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You forgot to finish that rule:

Doesn't apply.

Doesn't apply? Please go on and tell us why.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah, why not?

Bottom line here is there is one entity, the NFL, that has legal council in every state they play in ... vs ... a message board poster's opinion.

The rule is "pretty" clear, enough so that the NFL not only found the hit to be in violation, but also that it deserved restitution (the fine).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was not a penalty...

3rd and 1 at OAK 29 C.Palmer pass incomplete short right to D.Moore [G.Hardy]. OAK-C.Palmer was injured during the play. He is Out. PENALTY on CAR-G.Hardy, Roughing the Passer, 15 yards, enforced at OAK 29 - No Play.

http://scores.espn.g...ameId=321223029

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Almost every hit there is contact with the defender's helmet

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites