Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Someone please explain the Tavon Austin hype.

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

#1 Monday Night Shyamalan

Monday Night Shyamalan

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts
  • LocationHollyweird, CA

Posted 02 April 2013 - 05:19 PM

I'm not a big proponent of the combine or pro-days in the first place, I don't think combine variables necessarily translate onto the field, and are looked at too seriously.

Is Tavon an explosive athlete? Of course, but so was this guy we just signed to a 1-year deal who was drafted #9 overall in 2007 (and outside of ST, we can all agree he was a bust for where he was drafted). Both seem to be similar type players coming out of college.

I would rather have the Allen's, Patterson's, Hunter's, Hopkin's, Wood's. #14 is too high to draft a gimmick player who I feel was more so a product of WVU system.

People on here would give their left nut to draft him in the 1st, someone please convenience me why he would be worth it...

#2 Floppin

Floppin

Smooches

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,662 posts
  • LocationShallotte, NC

Posted 02 April 2013 - 05:29 PM

Yeah, this thread was definitely necessary. You couldn't have just jumped into the conversation in one of the various 30 page long threads on this very subject.

#3 JonathanGerald2022

JonathanGerald2022

NOT NEWB

• NEWB
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 02 April 2013 - 05:42 PM

I'm not a big proponent of the combine or pro-days in the first place, I don't think combine variables necessarily translate onto the field, and are looked at too seriously.

Is Tavon an explosive athlete? Of course, but so was this guy we just signed to a 1-year deal who was drafted #9 overall in 2007 (and outside of ST, we can all agree he was a bust for where he was drafted). Both seem to be similar type players coming out of college.