Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TruCatzFan

The Masters

177 posts in this topic

Imagine if TV viewers could call in on college basketball games

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's safe to say that your tin foil hat is on way too tight.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Whether or not anyone agrees with the ruling, saying it was "within the letter of the law" is not entirely the case.

How so?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

How so?

The "letter of the law" being his totally unbiased personal opinion.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does no one else find it curious that this relatively unknown "rule" put in place in 2012 has never been used until Friday?

*1991 Doral Ryder: Azinger DQ'd for signing incorrect scorecard after the final round.

*1987 San Diego Open: Stadler DQ'd for "building a stance" by putting a towel under his knee to hit a shot from the mud behind a tree. He didn't want to get his pants dirty. (TV viewer ratted him out)

*2010 PGA Championship: Dustin Johnson DQ'd for grounding his club in a hazard (TV viewer ratted him out)

*1996 Bay Hill: Jeff Sluman DQ'd for doing the exact same thing Tiger did Friday- hit a ball into the water and didn't replay from the same spot. He was 2 shots back...

Let me type this slower this time. The rule has changed SINCE all the instances you mention above.

All the situations you mention above are the REASONS the rule has changed.

One more time: There is a new rule, 33-7 which gives leeway to the application of a DQ.

You can like the rule change, you can not like the rule change. You, though, just seem to ignore the rule change.

Now, get your ball off my lawn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You see, the "applicable rules" also state that Tiger Woods signed an incorrect scorecard, which is penalized by DQ. In this case, though, the Master Rules committee (not the USGA, not the PGA, not the R&A) has a rule that allows them to change the rules of the game for the benefit of TV. So, although the "letter of the law" says one thing, there is apparently the catch-all, one-time, get-out-of-jail free card- the almighty TV rule.

You are taking the term "TV Rule", to mean that the individual tournament committees can change the rules of the game to increase tv RATINGS.

It is called the "TV Rule", because golf seems to be the singular sport where people can call from home during a tournament and report player infractions. The governing bodies didn't think it fair that a player could unknowingly violate a rule, turn in their scorecard, and then AFTERWARDS be subject to a late call from a viewer watching tv at home in his Lay Z Boy.

If the player knew before signing his scorecard that he was subject to a penalty, he would take the penalty and not be subject to turning in an incorrect scorecard.

Most people would think DQing someone for signing an incorrect scorecard when they didn't even KNOW it was incorrect is a very harsh penalty.

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does no one else find it curious that this relatively unknown "rule" put in place in 2012 has never been used until Friday?

Can you give a couple examples post rule change when it should have been?

Anyway:

Tiger Woods was allowed to stay in the Masters because of a relatively new rule that allows officials to waive disqualification penalties in special circumstances.

The USGA rule (number 33-7/4.5) was changed in 2011. It basically allows tour officials to not disqualify a player if instant reply after a player's round shows that he unknowingly violated a rule.

For instance, the USGA included this great example in the explanation of the rule (which we paraphrased):

A player unknowingly glances a few grains of sand on his backswing while hitting a bunker shot. No one notices it, and the player finishes his round. But hours later it gets slowed down to 1/16th speed on TV and you see that he actually hit that one grain of sand, which is a violation. Under the new rule, officials can simply give him a two-stroke penalty after-the-fact and waive the disqualification penalty for handing in an incorrect scorecard.

There are two keys that allow a player to avoid disqualification under rule 33.7:

  • No one realized he committed a violation at the time
  • The player didn't know and couldn't have known he had committed a violation

That final point is where things get dicey for Tiger.

He said in a statement on Twitter that he didn't know his drop was illegal. That's plausible. But for him to get saved by this rule and remain in the Masters, there had to be no way he could have known that he was breaking a rule.

His ignorance of the "factual circumstances" (as the rule puts it) had to be the same as a player who unknowingly scrapes a single grain a sand in a bunker shot.

The USGA provided another example of a situation where a disqualification penalty CANNOT be waived, which applies here (paraphrased):

A player moves a loose impediment (a clump of dirt, or whatever) in an area where his putt might end up while it's still moving. No one notices, and the player doesn't take a penalty. Under the new rule, he would still be disqualified after the violation was discovered through instant replay because he should have known that he couldn't move that clump of dirt based on the circumstances.

So, in essence, the rule that saved Tiger says a player can avoid disqualification if he didn't know he was breaking a rule, but not if he should have known he was breaking a rule.

Augusta is saying that Tiger couldn't have known he was breaking a rule when he took that illegal drop.

It's the definition of a judgement call. The rule states that waiving disqualification should be used in "rare situations where it is reasonable that a player is unaware of the factual circumstances of a breach."

Augusta had to answer the question: Should Tiger have known that what he was doing was illegal?

Read more: http://www.businessinsider.com/rule-why-tiger-wasnt-disqualified-at-the-masters-2013-4#ixzz2QSH23lLL

If Tiger knew he was breaking a rule at the time obviously he wouldn't have done it in front of Master's Officials, his peers and millions of TV viewers.

Now let's enjoy some great golf today!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a hard time thinking he's been playing golf as long as he's been able to walk, how could he not know the rules!!!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have a hard time thinking he's been playing golf as long as he's been able to walk, how could he not know the rules!!!!

Perhaps he's part Canadian.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

the blasian Canadian....it fits!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Somewhere in history the rules of golf transmorphed from something logical and structured into something that 15 handicappers enjoy being dicks about. It's one thing if it is an official match or there is big money. But in a $10 Saturday match I could give a crap if your ball moved a cm or merely oscillated. You are laying 6 already how about we move along.

Can't stand playing with people like this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Somewhere in history the rules of golf transmorphed from something logical and structured into something that 15 handicappers enjoy being dicks about. It's one thing if it is an official match or there is big money. But in a $10 Saturday match I could give a crap if your ball moved a cm or merely oscillated. You are laying 6 already how about we move along.

Can't stand playing with people like this.

Aye, he who has the most fun on the golf course.....wins.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites