Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

The Masters


  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#166 Saxist Fed

Saxist Fed

    halt the tomfoolery

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,128 posts
  • Locationthe.black.lodge

Posted 14 April 2013 - 06:03 PM

what a great finish

#167 CarolinaKid704

CarolinaKid704

    C***

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 766 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 06:16 PM

Steve Williams wins this sudden death with an eagle 2 on the 18th to claim his 6th green jacket.

#168 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,615 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 14 April 2013 - 06:44 PM

Nice playoff... Cabrera is a true gentleman.

Good to see someone win it'd just like Bubba did last year, hate to see a player lose it.

#169 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    SENIOR HUDDLER

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,506 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 06:52 PM

Alright, Great Tournament. Congrats to Adam Scott.

Bring on the US Open!

#170 Boltergeist

Boltergeist

    Unicorns! Show ponies! Where's the beef!?

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,178 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 07:53 PM

Biggest shock of the Masters: pun free Nantz. Instead it was Ian Baker-Finch with the "from down under to the top of the world"

#171 Happy Panther

Happy Panther

    Now even funnier.

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,632 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 11:05 AM

Tiger may have been in the exact same spot.



http://sports.yahoo....-204353354.html

The Augusta Chronicle on Sunday printed two photos by staffer Michael Holahan of Woods' two chip shots from the 15th fairway. The first hit the flagstick and rolled into the water, forcing Woods to take a one-stroke penalty and then drop his ball "as nearly as possible" to his original location.

The Chronicle circled various divots in the 15th fairway to show Woods' second shot was in almost the exact same location as the first.


Posted Image

#172 Anybodyhome

Anybodyhome

    USN Retired

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,222 posts
  • LocationWherever I May Roam

Posted 15 April 2013 - 08:56 PM

Except that he stated during his interview he purposefully dropped 2 yards father back on his second shot.

#173 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    SENIOR HUDDLER

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,506 posts

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:43 PM

Jesus.
The Masters committee reviewed Tiger's drop as it occurred and right after and found nothing wrong with the drop.
If they had found a problem with it they would have discussed Tiger's thinking and actions before he even went in to sign his score card.
They didn't, some douche called in later after Tiger's presser and they looked at it again with his statements and called him in the next day to discuss his actions.
At that point they assessed the 2 stroke penalty which the Masters Officials would have done had they done their jobs correctly when the illegal drop occurred.
The Masters officials were as culpable as Tiger, did the right thing and Tiger complied completely with their rulings without complaint.
Get over it.

#174 Bob NC

Bob NC

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 06:27 AM

Except that he stated during his interview he purposefully dropped 2 yards father back on his second shot.



Everyone uses the word "intent" as a catch all. I have to ask one question. What if Tiger said he intended to ground his club in a hazard, but he didn't do it. Is that a penalty because he said he intended to?

If he "said" he meant to drop the ball 2 yards away but he didn't, is that a penalty?

#175 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,615 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 17 April 2013 - 07:54 AM

Everyone uses the word "intent" as a catch all. I have to ask one question. What if Tiger said he intended to ground his club in a hazard, but he didn't do it. Is that a penalty because he said he intended to?

If he "said" he meant to drop the ball 2 yards away but he didn't, is that a penalty?


I don't think so. You should only be penalized for an action, not an intent.

I think the rules committee made several mistakes in this situation. It was not handled very well imo.


Having said that... they had already ruled that there was no infraction, but when Tiger made his comments, it kind of forced them to review it again. Erroneously or not, they found that he committed an infraction and penalized him.

I suspect the longest lasting effect of this situation is that golfers will be MUCH more careful about what they say in post round interviews.

#176 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    SENIOR HUDDLER

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,506 posts

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:20 AM

^^^

Yep

Posted Image

get ready for one round at a time, happy to be here, shots fall where they may, it is what it is.

#177 ladypanther

ladypanther

    SENIOR HUDDLER

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,251 posts
  • LocationWNC

Posted 17 April 2013 - 05:34 PM

Tiger had no problems with it....he made a mistake. He got a better break because of the rule change than others have. He did not complain. No issue here.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Contact Us: info@carolinahuddle.com - IP Content Design by Joshua Tree / TitansReport.