Jump to content





Photo
- - - - -

The Masters


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
176 replies to this topic

#169 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    Blazing Trails Thru the NFC South

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 19,256
  • Reputation: 4,528
HUDDLER

Posted 14 April 2013 - 06:52 PM

Alright, Great Tournament. Congrats to Adam Scott.

Bring on the US Open!

#170 Boltergeist

Boltergeist

    you can't spell Mayock without MC

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 6,432
  • Reputation: 204
HUDDLER

Posted 14 April 2013 - 07:53 PM

Biggest shock of the Masters: pun free Nantz. Instead it was Ian Baker-Finch with the "from down under to the top of the world"

#171 Happy Panther

Happy Panther

    Now even funnier.

  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • posts: 18,507
  • Reputation: 3,471
SUPPORTER

Posted 15 April 2013 - 11:05 AM

Tiger may have been in the exact same spot.



http://sports.yahoo....-204353354.html

The Augusta Chronicle on Sunday printed two photos by staffer Michael Holahan of Woods' two chip shots from the 15th fairway. The first hit the flagstick and rolled into the water, forcing Woods to take a one-stroke penalty and then drop his ball "as nearly as possible" to his original location.

The Chronicle circled various divots in the 15th fairway to show Woods' second shot was in almost the exact same location as the first.


Posted Image

#172 Anybodyhome

Anybodyhome

    USN Retired

  • Joined: 07-July 10
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 7,890
  • Reputation: 2,638
HUDDLER

Posted 15 April 2013 - 08:56 PM

Except that he stated during his interview he purposefully dropped 2 yards father back on his second shot.

#173 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    Blazing Trails Thru the NFC South

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 19,256
  • Reputation: 4,528
HUDDLER

Posted 15 April 2013 - 10:43 PM

Jesus.
The Masters committee reviewed Tiger's drop as it occurred and right after and found nothing wrong with the drop.
If they had found a problem with it they would have discussed Tiger's thinking and actions before he even went in to sign his score card.
They didn't, some douche called in later after Tiger's presser and they looked at it again with his statements and called him in the next day to discuss his actions.
At that point they assessed the 2 stroke penalty which the Masters Officials would have done had they done their jobs correctly when the illegal drop occurred.
The Masters officials were as culpable as Tiger, did the right thing and Tiger complied completely with their rulings without complaint.
Get over it.

#174 Bob NC

Bob NC

    Senior Member

  • Joined: 25-November 08
  • PipPipPipPip
  • posts: 270
  • Reputation: 63
HUDDLER

Posted 17 April 2013 - 06:27 AM

Except that he stated during his interview he purposefully dropped 2 yards father back on his second shot.



Everyone uses the word "intent" as a catch all. I have to ask one question. What if Tiger said he intended to ground his club in a hazard, but he didn't do it. Is that a penalty because he said he intended to?

If he "said" he meant to drop the ball 2 yards away but he didn't, is that a penalty?

#175 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • Joined: 25-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 34,980
  • Reputation: 9,083
HUDDLER

Posted 17 April 2013 - 07:54 AM

Everyone uses the word "intent" as a catch all. I have to ask one question. What if Tiger said he intended to ground his club in a hazard, but he didn't do it. Is that a penalty because he said he intended to?

If he "said" he meant to drop the ball 2 yards away but he didn't, is that a penalty?


I don't think so. You should only be penalized for an action, not an intent.

I think the rules committee made several mistakes in this situation. It was not handled very well imo.


Having said that... they had already ruled that there was no infraction, but when Tiger made his comments, it kind of forced them to review it again. Erroneously or not, they found that he committed an infraction and penalized him.

I suspect the longest lasting effect of this situation is that golfers will be MUCH more careful about what they say in post round interviews.

#176 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    Blazing Trails Thru the NFC South

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 19,256
  • Reputation: 4,528
HUDDLER

Posted 17 April 2013 - 09:20 AM

^^^

Yep

Posted Image

get ready for one round at a time, happy to be here, shots fall where they may, it is what it is.

#177 ladypanther

ladypanther

    SENIOR HUDDLER

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • posts: 5,336
  • Reputation: 1,608
SUPPORTER

Posted 17 April 2013 - 05:34 PM

Tiger had no problems with it....he made a mistake. He got a better break because of the rule change than others have. He did not complain. No issue here.