Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

The Masters


  • Please log in to reply
176 replies to this topic

#106 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    _RUN FOZZY RUN_

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,318 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 04:34 PM

That thing Adam Scott putts with is not a golf club.

#107 cookinbrak

cookinbrak

    tastes like chicken...

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,232 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 05:47 PM

What's the difference between the Tiger haters and the Tigers slurpers?

He knew what he was doing. He backed up about 10 yds and hit the shot again. He admitted he dropped further back to make it an easier shot.

Posted Image

#108 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    _RUN FOZZY RUN_

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,318 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 05:58 PM

lol, can you see the difference in the angle of that picture?

The second shot was within two feet of his first shot.

Posted Image


Here's a hint for you, You cant even see the pin in the second picture.

#109 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,344 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:03 PM

He definitely backed up on purpose, he said so... But it wasn't with this intent to break the rules, he just applied the rule incorrectly.

He deserved the penalty, he said so himself... The question is the decision to not DQ him based on that new rule since he'd signed the card.

#110 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    _RUN FOZZY RUN_

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,318 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:04 PM

Just for the blind haters, here's reality;

Posted Image

http://www.businessi...-penalty-2013-4

#111 Anybodyhome

Anybodyhome

    USN Retired

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,656 posts
  • LocationWherever I May Roam

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:10 PM

Cabrera's girlfriend:
Posted Image

Posted Image

#112 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    _RUN FOZZY RUN_

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,318 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:16 PM

^
Dirty old man!

#113 Brooklyn Bully

Brooklyn Bully

    #1

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,926 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 06:17 PM

A rich professional sports dude with a younger hot wife? The HELL you say!

#114 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,344 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 13 April 2013 - 07:10 PM

A rich professional sports dude with a younger hot wife? The HELL you say!


Have you seen Vijays wife? She's neither...

#115 4Corners

4Corners

    go to sleep hoe

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,480 posts
  • Location704

Posted 13 April 2013 - 10:41 PM

Aussies or the field for Sunday?

#116 Kevin Greene

Kevin Greene

    _RUN FOZZY RUN_

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,318 posts

Posted 13 April 2013 - 10:52 PM

Aussies or the field for Sunday?


Gimme Snedeker straight up all day long.

#117 4Corners

4Corners

    go to sleep hoe

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,480 posts
  • Location704

Posted 13 April 2013 - 11:10 PM

Tomorrow is going to be awesome

#118 Happy Panther

Happy Panther

    Now even funnier.

  • ALL-PRO
  • 17,546 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 08:36 AM

People seem to be getting outraged over this which is surprising.

Whether you agree or disagree with the ruling, it was done within the letter of the law. The 2 stroke penalty basically took him out of contention.

The penalty could have ramifications down the road. What if he gets within two strokes of the lead. What if he gets to 17 majors?

I'm guessing this will be a watershed event in golf.

Or I could be wrong.

#119 Bob NC

Bob NC

    Senior Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 14 April 2013 - 09:31 AM

TV viewers have cost players tournaments in the past- Camillo Villegas was DQ'd as a result of a phone call in 2011.

In the case of the latest-this Tiger thing- had a caller not made the call, he would have been DQ'd for signing an incorrect score card. Only by virtue of that call did rules officials begin looking at the incident.

It's not a question of Tiger-hating as much as it is changing the rules of the game to accommodate the almighty TV dollar. Football and NCAA basketball timeouts are governed by TV. Masters tournament has their own rules committee and does not have the USGA or the PGA rules committees involved. Therefore, they feel they can change the rules of golf to suit their tournament, which benefits their TV ratings and their profitability.





The relatively new change in the rules is BECAUSE of the situation with Villegas, and various other situations where players have been DQ'd dating all the way back to Roberto De Vicenzo signing an incorrect scorecard in the 1968 Masters.

The powers that be instituted rule 33-7 to give an alternative to an automatic DQ. With Roberto, he hit the shots necessary to win the Masters with his golf clubs but he got the death penalty because of a mistake he made with his pencil.

There have been many instances of DQ in the past that almost everyone would look at as too harsh a penalty for the violation.

In 2011 the rules committee finally realized this and took some action, instituting Rule 33-7.

The only problem here is all the talking heads on TV that haven't swung a competitive club in years can't go along with progress and realize the rule has changed.

Tiger should have been DQ'd or should withdraw ONLY if we apply the pre 2011 rules.

We, however, are now operating under the current Rules of Golf.

#120 Anybodyhome

Anybodyhome

    USN Retired

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,656 posts
  • LocationWherever I May Roam

Posted 14 April 2013 - 09:43 AM

People seem to be getting outraged over this which is surprising.

Whether you agree or disagree with the ruling, it was done within the letter of the law. The 2 stroke penalty basically took him out of contention.

The penalty could have ramifications down the road. What if he gets within two strokes of the lead. What if he gets to 17 majors?

I'm guessing this will be a watershed event in golf.

Or I could be wrong.


Whether or not anyone agrees with the ruling, saying it was "within the letter of the law" is not entirely the case. In penalizing the 14-year old Chinese amateur for slow play on Friday and then a rules official saying, "In keeping with the applicable rules..." gives the doubters every reason to be a little more than suspicious.

You see, the "applicable rules" also state that Tiger Woods signed an incorrect scorecard, which is penalized by DQ. In this case, though, the Master Rules committee (not the USGA, not the PGA, not the R&A) has a rule that allows them to change the rules of the game for the benefit of TV. So, although the "letter of the law" says one thing, there is apparently the catch-all, one-time, get-out-of-jail free card- the almighty TV rule.

Does no one else find it curious that this relatively unknown "rule" put in place in 2012 has never been used until Friday?

*1991 Doral Ryder: Azinger DQ'd for signing incorrect scorecard after the final round.
*1987 San Diego Open: Stadler DQ'd for "building a stance" by putting a towel under his knee to hit a shot from the mud behind a tree. He didn't want to get his pants dirty. (TV viewer ratted him out)
*2010 PGA Championship: Dustin Johnson DQ'd for grounding his club in a hazard (TV viewer ratted him out)
*1996 Bay Hill: Jeff Sluman DQ'd for doing the exact same thing Tiger did Friday- hit a ball into the water and didn't replay from the same spot. He was 2 shots back...


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Shop at Amazon Contact Us: info@carolinahuddle.com