Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 2 votes

2013 Steam Summer Sale


  • Please log in to reply
112 replies to this topic

#71 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 12:54 PM

Yeah no clue.  I tried a lot of the solutions I found in the forums on Steam and the Fallout site, tried downloading some patches yada yada and finally just gave up. 

 

Every other game I've had works, and it seems I'm not the only one having the problem, so no idea. Like you said, my laptop probably just doesn't have a video card high enough to run it or something. 

 

Weird, I never had issues with the game when I had it installed. Since you said you tried a few solutions, I'll go with something simple and ask if you selected XP compatibility? 

 

Also did you follow these steps? 

 

 

http://forums.steamp...d.php?t=2825612



#72 CarolinaNCSU

CarolinaNCSU

    Senior Member

  • Joined: 12-September 11
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 5,702
  • Reputation: 2,601
  • LocationRaleigh
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 01:26 PM

It's just a HP dm4 (dm4-2070us) off the shelf

 

carpan, I followed very similar steps, but I'll give those a try after work.  Thanks guys.



#73 Zaximus

Zaximus

    I'm Brett Jensen

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 5,316
  • Reputation: 1,106
  • LocationMatthews, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 01:26 PM

I got Fallout 3 but haven't installed or played.  I did see a youtube video on things to do so it plays I believe, may want to search there too.

 

I'm thinking about getting the previous Assassin's Creed games since I never played them.  There's like 4 that are 4.99 each (not getting the new one yet).

 

I have 9 items in my cart, about to drop $45 I think.



#74 Dex

Dex

    Knight of Sunlight

  • Joined: 25-July 11
  • posts: 7,530
  • Reputation: 7,060
  • LocationConnecticut
SUPPORTER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 01:34 PM

Is Alan Wake worth a purchase?



#75 Zaximus

Zaximus

    I'm Brett Jensen

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 5,316
  • Reputation: 1,106
  • LocationMatthews, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 01:35 PM

Is Alan Wake worth a purchase?

 

I got Alan Wake and the 2nd game (or DLC can't remember if it was a full one) on humble bundle for like $3.00 some weeks back.  I heard it's pretty good though, haven't played it myself yet.


  • Dex PIE'd this

#76 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 01:48 PM

It's just a HP dm4 (dm4-2070us) off the shelf

 

carpan, I followed very similar steps, but I'll give those a try after work.  Thanks guys.

 

 

The DM4-207us has an Intel 3000 HD and Fall out 3 doesn't support integrated graphic cores out of the box. You'll need to use the D3D9.dll file originally developed for Oldblivion to start the game.

 

 

Follow the steps I gave you, turn on xp compatibility and lower the settings down and it should run poorly but playable. (around 24ish fps.)  



#77 iamcline

iamcline

    Thou shalt not spilleth thy Red Bull!

  • Joined: 30-August 10
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 2,834
  • Reputation: 528
  • LocationGreensboro, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:04 PM

FM 2013! Heyoooo!!



#78 Zaximus

Zaximus

    I'm Brett Jensen

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 5,316
  • Reputation: 1,106
  • LocationMatthews, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:08 PM

FM 2013! Heyoooo!!

 

 

LOL.  There's a Brit on my friends list who has put in like 900 hours on that game (just the latest year's version).  Heard it's amazing.  I don't follow soccer though so.



#79 iamcline

iamcline

    Thou shalt not spilleth thy Red Bull!

  • Joined: 30-August 10
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 2,834
  • Reputation: 528
  • LocationGreensboro, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:18 PM

LOL.  There's a Brit on my friends list who has put in like 900 hours on that game (just the latest year's version).  Heard it's amazing.  I don't follow soccer though so.

 

Yeah it's nuts.  It's one of the top played games on Steam.  Up there with Dota2 and COD.  Craziness.  I'm still learning it.  Played last year's version but didn't want to upgrade for $50....for $10?  Sure lol.



#80 Zaximus

Zaximus

    I'm Brett Jensen

  • Joined: 24-November 08
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 5,316
  • Reputation: 1,106
  • LocationMatthews, NC
HUDDLER

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:38 PM

Also, I can't recommend Orcs Must Die 2 enough.  I need to play it more but it's a really awesome game.  Tower defense with traps and things like that, really cool.  It's on sale right now.   You don't need the first Orcs, only thing is if you own the first you get 10 classic maps from that one to play on Orcs 2.

 

Not to mention Orcs 2 just landed on Workshop so tons of mods are sure to follow.  This game is super fun in co-op also.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users