24 replies to this topic

#1 Keep Steve

Keep Steve

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 403 posts
  • LocationEarth

Posted 23 January 2014 - 11:16 PM

I have good intentions putting this thread up.  I put in the smack area because I have no idea what this is going to start.  I have a bachelors degree in accounting and then joined the Army infantry where I did two deployments to Afghanistan.  I got out of the Army as an E-5.  I just signed a lease to an apartment in Durham.  I am from Minnesota, but lived in Fayetteville for a year while in the Army, so I am somewhat familiar with the area.  

I am basically looking for any advice I can get on the area.  With my background is Charlotte a better fit?  I know that I may be considered a Yankee and I know I personally love the southern accent and most of the southern culture, other than the racist types.  I have a wife and a one year old child.  I am an avid Panthers fan and always have been since I was 6 or 7.  Same with UNC basketball.  I am down to become a Hornets fan and since NC doesnt have a baseball team it means I can still be a Twins fan. Just looking for friendly help.  I do not have a job lined up yet, so maybe I could get some networking done here.  Thanks again.

#2 Jase

Jase

Kuechold Fantasies

• Administrators
  • 17,484 posts
  • LocationMatthews, NC

Posted 23 January 2014 - 11:40 PM

charlotte is nothing like fayetteville (thank god)

I think just about everyone can fit in around charlotte.

durham I cannot vouch for.

#3 bigskypanthersguy

bigskypanthersguy

Prowl, Cats, Prowl.

• ALL-PRO
  • 1,709 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 01:59 AM

any advice for the Asheville area?

#4 PhillyB

PhillyB

hari kari for amari

• ALL-PRO
  • 21,724 posts
  • Locationthird spur east of the sun

Posted 24 January 2014 - 02:22 AM

what part of minnesota? i lived inbetween mankato and owatanna for a time

#5 Shufdog

Shufdog

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,243 posts

Posted 24 January 2014 - 02:36 AM