Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Moving to North Carolina Area

25 posts in this topic

Posted

I have good intentions putting this thread up.  I put in the smack area because I have no idea what this is going to start.  I have a bachelors degree in accounting and then joined the Army infantry where I did two deployments to Afghanistan.  I got out of the Army as an E-5.  I just signed a lease to an apartment in Durham.  I am from Minnesota, but lived in Fayetteville for a year while in the Army, so I am somewhat familiar with the area.  

I am basically looking for any advice I can get on the area.  With my background is Charlotte a better fit?  I know that I may be considered a Yankee and I know I personally love the southern accent and most of the southern culture, other than the racist types.  I have a wife and a one year old child.  I am an avid Panthers fan and always have been since I was 6 or 7.  Same with UNC basketball.  I am down to become a Hornets fan and since NC doesnt have a baseball team it means I can still be a Twins fan. Just looking for friendly help.  I do not have a job lined up yet, so maybe I could get some networking done here.  Thanks again.

Posted

charlotte is nothing like fayetteville (thank god)

I think just about everyone can fit in around charlotte.

durham I cannot vouch for.

1 person likes this

Posted

any advice for the Asheville area?

1 person likes this

Posted

what part of minnesota? i lived inbetween mankato and owatanna for a time

1 person likes this

Posted

You should've put this in The Lounge, it would probably get a better response, sweet talk a Mod and they might move it!

There is a discussion going on right now in there about whether Charlotte sucks or not.

1 person likes this

Posted

Everyone's gonna laugh whenever you say bag.

And Fayetteville is a third world country.

Posted