#1 ladypanther

ladypanther

SENIOR HUDDLER

• HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,261 posts
  • LocationWNC

Posted 23 March 2014 - 07:29 PM

So, it is about time to get a new computer.  I am a low tech kind of person (but I do love my smart phone).  Probably looking for a laptop.  Use=surfing the net, occasional steaming of movies, watch videos.  Don't have to work from home. (May check company websites for training videos) Will occassionaly update my resume. Want to be able to have 3 or 4 tabs open without it freezing up. So, am not looking to spend a ton of money.  Has anyone bought a refurbished computer?  How did that go?  Looking for decent function and decent price.

Your advice will be appreciated.

#2 KillerKat

KillerKat

Top Banana

• HUDDLER
  • 17,661 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 07:33 PM

Unless your price range is really low, you shouldn't have to buy refurbished for a new laptop. They are reasonably priced right now.

#3 Frash Brastard

Frash Brastard

The Frashmaker

• HUDDLER
  • 13,785 posts

Posted 23 March 2014 - 07:51 PM

I'd say for movie streaming you'll probably look at a minimum of 4gb ram and maybe an Intel i3 processor. You shouldn't have any problems with what you're trying to do.

#4 ladypanther

ladypanther

SENIOR HUDDLER

• HUDDLER
  • 5,261 posts
  • LocationWNC

Posted 23 March 2014 - 08:00 PM

Unless your price range is really low, you shouldn't have to buy refurbished for a new laptop. They are reasonably priced right now.

Good to hear.  Any recommendations on brands to buy or to avoid?

#5 ladypanther

ladypanther

SENIOR HUDDLER

• HUDDLER
  • 5,261 posts
  • LocationWNC

Posted 23 March 2014 - 08:01 PM

I'd say for movie streaming you'll probably look at a minimum of 4gb ram and maybe an Intel i3 processor. You shouldn't have any problems with what you're trying to do.

Thanks.  That kind of info is very helpful.

#6 Anybodyhome

Anybodyhome

USN Retired

• HUDDLER
  • 6,339 posts
  • LocationWherever I May Roam