Carolina Huddle
  • Hey There!

Please register to see fewer ads and a better viewing experience:100_Emoji_42x42:

1of10Charnatives

Anyone here have experience with statistical hypothesis testing?

I’ve got a question I wanna look at using hypothesis testing but although I had some exposure to it for my degree that was many moons ago and tbh my grade in business statistics reflected that it was one of the subjects I had the weakest grasp of any I studied. If anybody’s even decent at that stuff I could use a hand not screwing it up. Post here or pm me.

Oh and before you ask the question relates to running qb’s as they age, so not remotely relevant to the Panthers.

• Pie 2

Basically a lot of people tend to go with the assumption that when running qb’s stop running or run a lot less, they become less effective overall. When I looked at running qb’s career statistics, those that played long enough to make it into their 30’s did run markedly less from about 30 onward, but they were also able to keep playing into their mid 30’s. (a fact I found mildly  surprising and has caused me to reevaluate how viable I thought keeping Cam is as an option going forward.)

What I want look at beyond just eye balling numbers is whether the decrease in running impacted their passer rating negatively or not. I think it’s possible that as these qb’s matured, their experience enabled them to largely compensate for the need to shift away from running.

statistical hypothesis testing is a math based way to answer that question. A question that it might be useful to know about what it would be reasonable to expect from Cam going forward barring injury.

• Pie 2

I was just dangerous enough to help maybe 2 decades ago.

But I would start running some liner regressions and see what pops out.

41 minutes ago, 1of10Charnatives said: