Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

[officiating] Anybody See that Muffed Punt by the cowboys blocker last night?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Jase

Jase

    Kuechold Fantasies

  • Administrators
  • 16,886 posts
  • LocationMatthews, NC

Posted 14 October 2013 - 07:48 AM

Cowboys player was blocking, ball hit him on the rear end.  Redskins recover.

 

Officials get together and rule that the cowboys player was blocked into the ball.

 

I watch this and think that this is exactly how all of the panthers' turnovers on punts have been.

 

Is this an actual rule?  That a blocker can be "blocked" into the ball and it's not a muff?  Because we've never gotten that call in franchise history.

 

 



#2 dos poptarts

dos poptarts

    Member

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 826 posts

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:04 AM

I can see the Dallas 12th Man, I mean NFL officials have received their orders to get Dallas all the help they can.

 

being blocked is how nearly all punt touches occur. I've seen that call happen before but when the receiving team is pushed from behind and the ball hits him. The Dallas player was engaged in a block and the ball hit him in the ass. Should have been Redskins balls.

 



#3 Darth Biscuit

Darth Biscuit

    Dark Lord

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32,983 posts
  • LocationWilmington, NC

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:21 AM

I saw a tweet about this earlier, but I did not watch that game...

 

Here's the gif...

 

mufffumble.gif

 

 

 

I see why they ruled that... looks to me like the skins player sees the ball and intentionally pushes him into it...

 

I think I've heard of this rule before, but never really seen it enforced...  can't recall.



#4 Jase

Jase

    Kuechold Fantasies

  • Administrators
  • 16,886 posts
  • LocationMatthews, NC

Posted 14 October 2013 - 09:37 AM

here's something else I didn't notice.  See how the redskin defender is out of bounds, not engaged with a blocker, moving laterally with respect to the sideline?  not making an immediate effort to get back in?

 

Is that better or worse than what armond smith did that drew two flags in one game?



#5 Mr. Scot

Mr. Scot

    Football Historian

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38,671 posts
  • LocationSC

Posted 14 October 2013 - 10:02 AM

That ball would have hit him anyway.  And he put himself in that spot.

 

Using that rule I'm pretty sure at least one of our ST turnovers this year could have been overturned.



#6 I Mean He Was Found Guilty

I Mean He Was Found Guilty

    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

  • HUDDLER
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,826 posts
  • LocationChapel Hill

Posted 14 October 2013 - 12:02 PM

that incident reminded me of a similar one when we played the redskins in 2009.  one of our gunners blocked one of their players into their punt returner.  the returner flopped, his foot made contact with the ball, and our ST players dove on it.  after a referee conference and review, they turned the ball over to the panthers with no flag for fair catch interference.  how is this different?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Shop at Amazon Contact Us: info@carolinahuddle.com