The Hardy hit was the most obvious penalty and fine of the whole game. Easy penalty and easy fine. I can't imagine how you can argue that was a clean hit. It was an AWESOME hit but also the definition of the rule below. Plus it has been called all year.
Probably worth it though.
Except Hardy did none of that.
(f) He used his facemask, but didn't spear violently or unnecessarily. He obviously wasn't trying to hurt the guy, he was trying to tackle him. There's no way he could have had a chance at making the tackle without going directly for him and reaching out.
(1) He didn't hit the head, neck or face.
(2) He didn't lower his head. His facemask is clearly up from the photo evidence.
(3) He didn't launch. He ran through, exactly as they're supposed to tackle.
I don't see the problem. I hope he appeals.