Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Latest xBox live CNet release


  • Please log in to reply
103 replies to this topic

#1 g5jamz

g5jamz

    Is back

  • Joined: 17-March 09
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • posts: 19,063
  • Reputation: 458
HUDDLER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 12:17 PM

http://live.cnet.com...event_live_blog

 



#2 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 01:08 PM

Yea, they didn't mention it directly but that pretty much confirmed the always online system. The NFL and Halo thing was pretty nice, but they didn't really go into detail on the more important issues with the system. Games, whats up with the always online, xbox live price increase rumors.... so forth. 



#3 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 01:17 PM

Change that, Spike confirmed that not every game will require an internet connection. If the developer takes advantage of cloud saves then it has to be online while playing. 



#4 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 01:20 PM

Also on a Panel with Major Nelson, they mentioned a fee charge for all used games that are played on the system. Not backwards compatible either. 

 

 

 

http://www.polygon.c...atible-xbox-360

 

 

 

http://www.computera...e-for-xbox-one/

 

 

 

It's basically got a DRM on it for used games, each disk has to be tied to an xbox live account. Every game requires a install and if the same game is installed on two different accounts, the user has to pay a fee to play that game on their system. The system will have to be online during the install as well. 

 

Again it's not tied to the system solely, it's also tied to your live account. So based on what MS has said, for you GF or son/daughter to play the same game you would also have to play that fee. 

 

http://www.gamespot....ned-fee-6408671

 



#5 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 01:53 PM

8gb of DDR3 Ram, however the system is using 3 different OS which will eat quite a bit of that ram up. So realistically the Xbox one probably has around 5-6 GB of ram for games. 



#6 Kurb

Kurb

    I hit it.

  • Joined: 25-November 08
  • posts: 13,704
  • Reputation: 4,443
  • LocationILM
Administrators

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:05 PM

Using the cloud for storage actually makes a ton of sense.

 

Being someone who doesn't really operate in the realm of used games I could care less if it has to be online 24-7



#7 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:11 PM

The system also requires the Kinect to be plugged in to work and power on. Every SKU will come with the Kinect, so not a big deal. Just thought it was interesting that it had to be plugged in. 



#8 Kurb

Kurb

    I hit it.

  • Joined: 25-November 08
  • posts: 13,704
  • Reputation: 4,443
  • LocationILM
Administrators

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:12 PM

The system also requires the Kinect to be plugged in to work and power on. 

 

Does a Kinect come with it? 



#9 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:12 PM

Using the cloud for storage actually makes a ton of sense.

 

Being someone who doesn't really operate in the realm of used games I could care less if it has to be online 24-7

 

 

Yea, I didn't think I'd use it much. However I've got about 500MB on my ps3 cloud right now, so it's a bonus for sure. 



#10 carpanfan96

carpanfan96

    play hard, hit harder

  • Joined: 29-November 08
  • posts: 11,996
  • Reputation: 962
  • LocationLexington, NC
SUPPORTER

Posted 21 May 2013 - 02:13 PM

Does a Kinect come with it? 

 

 

Yes, every system will come with a kinect. Sorry about that. I'll update that post to include that information as well. 




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users