Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SteveSmithTD89

These refs have got to go

159 posts in this topic

From what I understand it doesn't have to be simultaneous initially, just before defender would be considered down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

wouldn't the Packers get disqualified for that?

What do you mean by disqualified?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The best thing about this fiasco is that the Packers are going to fume all week and then ram the Saints with no lube whatsoever.

4 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought you couldn't get possession of the ball in the air. If you catch the ball in the air but you can't bring it to the ground, it's never called a catch then fumble. It's an incomplete pass. That's the way it's always been. Tate reached in while the defender was still in the air. I don't see why that wouldn't be considered simultaneous.

A catch is not completed until the player is down and maintains possession. That is true. And yes, the rule is the tie on simultaneous possession goes to the receiver. But in this case there was no tie. The defender had the ball intercepted and kept possession all the way to the ground. He had both his hands on it. Only after it was intercepted did Tate reach in and also get his two hands on the remaining parts of the ball.

At least, that is how I would have ruled in my unprofessional capacity.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What do you mean by disqualified?

Well, if one team doesn't show up to a game, do they make one team play out the full game by themselves or do they just disqualify the other team for not showing up? I know an offense can run a play with less than 11 defenders on the field, but I've never seen a situation where a defense sends nobody onto the field. I'm just curious what would happen if a team refuses to continue to play. Anybody know what the rule is on this?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A catch is not completed until the player is down and maintains possession. That is true. And yes, the rule is the tie on simultaneous possession goes to the receiver. But in this case there was no tie. The defender had the ball intercepted and kept possession all the way to the ground. He had both his hands on it. Only after it was intercepted did Tate reach in and also get his two hands on the remaining parts of the ball.

At least, that is how I would have ruled in my unprofessional capacity.

Tate still reached in while Jennings was still in the air. You can't "complete" an interception while still in the air, the same way a receiver can't complete a pass before making it to the ground. Jennings shouldn't have left it up for discussion and should have just batted the pass down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The best thing about this fiasco is that the Packers are going to fume all week and then ram the Saints with no lube whatsoever.

1314368213740.jpg

2 people like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Giving into unions is why this country sucks and you want the NFL to give into a union that couldn't do their jobs well enough to begin with and had pet teams (steelers always getting a yard extra on the spot)

Still willing to watch the entire season with them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Giving into unions is why this country sucks and you want the NFL to give into a union that couldn't do their jobs well enough to begin with and had pet teams (steelers always getting a yard extra on the spot)

Still willing to watch the entire season with them.

Union membership is at an all-time low, so your theory is invalid.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Posts

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      18,246
    • Most Online
      2,867

    Newest Member
    Evangellic
    Joined