Jump to content
  • Welcome!

    Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

    Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

    Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

     

Offsetting Penalties from Bucs Game


dldove77

Recommended Posts

Did the league or Pereira/Blandino/Riveron ever address the end zone holding/personal foul issue from this week's game. I'd love to get an explanation, but haven't heard one yet. Has Rivera mentioned it since post game Sunday night?

I think we all know what we believed the call was supposed to be... I'd just like to hear it from them that they either screwed up or I was wrong.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Voth put in his article today that the rule is actually that they offset, but he didn't offer any evidence backing that up and I'm very skeptical about it. The refs told Rivera that they still offset but I'm 90% they were wrong about that. Star's penalty should've been enforced on the free kick. Haven't heard anything else on it though from the league one way or another. Quite ridiculous that our media doesn't push the league on things like this. Buffalo media pushed the league for a response on KB's TD that was overturned.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I'll just say this...my nephew is a referee for high school and college, and while I know the rules between High school, college, and the NFL vary, he told me that the holding call should have resulted in a safety and the PF on Star a separate foul, penalized on the free kick..  According to him, they should not have offset. 

You can take that as you will.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I also asked a friend who is an ACC official... Apparently, it boils down to whether or not Star's UR was during or after the play.  During, it would offset, after, it should be enforced on the punt.

There is another thread about this same thing, and someone there is pretty adamant that the official's called holding on another player, NOT the one that held Pep in the endzone.  If that's the case, it pretty much a moot point.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Skack25 said:

I also asked a friend who is an ACC official... Apparently, it boils down to whether or not Star's UR was during or after the play.  During, it would offset, after, it should be enforced on the punt.

There is another thread about this same thing, and someone there is pretty adamant that the official's called holding on another player, NOT the one that held Pep in the endzone.  If that's the case, it pretty much a moot point.

Doesnt matter who held. If the penalty would back them into their endzone, its a safety.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, stratopanther said:

Doesnt matter who held. If the penalty would back them into their endzone, its a safety.

I don't think that's how the rule works.  I could be wrong.  I was under the impression that holding in the endzone is what constitutes a safety.  Not the yardage lost due to penalty.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, stratopanther said:

Doesnt matter who held. If the penalty would back them into their endzone, its a safety.

I don't think there's a penalty that could back them into the endzone. It would be half the distance... Safety would only occur if the penalty took place in the end zone. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, Skack25 said:

I also asked a friend who is an ACC official... Apparently, it boils down to whether or not Star's UR was during or after the play.  During, it would offset, after, it should be enforced on the punt.

 

Star's penalty was definitely after the play. Both after the play and after the whistle when it occurred. 

Quote

There is another thread about this same thing, and someone there is pretty adamant that the official's called holding on another player, NOT the one that held Pep in the endzone.  If that's the case, it pretty much a moot point.

Unless there were two holds and the refs missed the one in the endzone and only caught the other one, this just isn't the case. Pep was in the middle of the endzone (not even close to the goal line at that point) when he got blatantly held, and the ref threw the flag right there. It would've been a safety.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


×
×
  • Create New...