• Welcome!

Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

Tiny Houses

332nd

So, it seems that wherever we wind up settling in for our home base, it'll be up north. Wisconsin, Illinois, Upstate New York, or Vermont. (Please God no! Mother in law lives there.)

I want to go tiny because of heating/cooling costs, doable solar power, & since I grew up in construction. (I'm an ok carpenter & pretty good brick/stone layer) Also, I'm planning a custom RV/mobile tiny home, either an old bus, trailer, or panel van that would actually connect to the... I dunno... Static(?) tiny house. 

Basically, it would be 2 bathrooms, 4 bedrooms, two kitchens when all together with 650-700 SQft.

Anybody here live in or know anyone who lives in a tiny house?

Look I watch those tiny home shows sometimes on HGTV, and yeah the concept seems cool. Unless your living alone, I think it’s absolutely a horrible idea.  

The main problems is 1) it’s way smaller than you actually think and 2) there are so many regulations about keeping a mobile home on a piece of land. Unless you know someone with land that will let you stay free/low rent.  Plus you have to consider power, water, and sewer.