• Welcome!

Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

Debt Collection Question

Brokenbad

I have never had a debt collector call me until today.

I was told I owe money to a whack ass school I attended.

I never took out a student loan, but I supposedly owe money to the school for classes I did not pass or finish.

Can a debt collector call over something that is not a loan? What can I do (besides pay) to get them to leave me alone?

I am new to all of this.

First off, if you don't believe that you incurred a debt to them I would ask them to see the document where you signed that you would pay them money. If they claim they will sue you then they will have to be able to prove the debt to a judge. If they cant produce the proof then tell them to fug off.

If you acknowledge the debt then negotiate. You can probably get them down to 50 cents on the dollar.

First off, if you don't believe that you incurred a debt to them I would ask them to see the document where you signed that you would pay them money. If they claim they will sue you then they will have to be able to prove the debt to a judge. If they cant produce the proof then tell them to fug off.

If you acknowledge the debt then negotiate. You can probably get them down to 50 cents on the dollar.

I had an old credit card bill that was around 4k....I had to settle it in order for the bank to give us the loan for our house...I called them and told them I was about to file for bankruptcy (a lie, obviously) and that I wanted to get them paid...they took $1,000

unfortunately, I did not listen to my father's advice on not fuging your credit up. I am now good to go, but it took many years to get there

oh and whoever tells you that Medical bills don't go on there, they lie