• Welcome!

Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

OLED?

onmyown

In the market for a new TV. Budget is about $1500. Been looking at the Sony A80J and LG C1 (I game) 65 inch.

I have zero experience with OLEDs and my main concern is how dark everyone says they are.

Is this true, are they too dark for a semi bright room, should I just get a high grade normal LCD like the X95J? Anyone want to share their thoughts/experience with OLED?

I game 50% of the time and movies the other half.

42 minutes ago, thefuzz said:

I'm actually in the market at well...but looking for a 75+...haven't bought a TV in 8 years, no clue where to start these days.

Basically you want a full array/QLED - (companies all have different names for it) which is basically the best standard LCD or the best on market which is a OLED.

Downfalls of the OLED are the lighting isn’t as bright. Big factor is it causing burn in (due to OLED individual lighting sources). Though they are working on that and the the future is basically a bright OLEDs.

But for now it’s a less bright OLED looking amazing in pitch black movie rooms or a full array for any lighting.

I am leaning towards the full array but I am going to the store to check out if it will be a problem. If it’s not, OLED is the way to go.

9 minutes ago, hepcat said:

I work in professional AV. OLED is LG and QLED is Samsung. Either are fine consumer options. I wouldn't buy another brand of TV other than those two. 

Uh…you may want to get re certified. 

Neither QLED or OLED is brand specific. It’s a type of TV/panel.

13 minutes ago, onmyown said:

Uh…you may want to get re certified. 

Neither QLED or OLED is brand specific. It’s a type of TV/panel.

Lol bro. Those are the tech the companies sell and market. I’ve never seen LG sell a QLED display. Never said they are brand specific.