• Welcome!

Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

Steve Smith, Brandon LaFell and Kelvin Benjamin all caught touchdown passes today

PanthersClinic

Too bad we didn't have the money to end up with all these guys, sure would've been more lethal than Brenton Bersin and Philly Brown.

I'm no cap expert but we really screwed the pooch with the WR icebreaker last offseason. We had Ginn stretching the field, Smith picking up tough third downs and LaFell working the middle of the field.

Also Ginn did punt returns quite well. Philly Brown took one back but was very unreliable and Bersin had no big play potential and developed a perverse fear of the ball in the playoffs.

Well, there's always tomorrow. Hopefully Gettleman will put a decent crew of receivers around Cam next season. The talent on offense simply wasn't acceptable this season. Honestly if they cut every receiver but KB tomorrow I'd be fine. That's how low quality the crew this year was.

thing is, you're gonna want someone to be the vet to mentor everyone else and Cotchery may as well be the new Proehl.  The other thing is you don't want to keep switching receivers all the time because Cam needs to have chemistry with someone other than Olsen.

That said, there's no reason to hold onto Bersin for anything anymore and while I like First Down Philly Brown in theory, if you can get a better option, I'm all for it.

Amazingly, I think the loss that hurt the most was Ginn. He and Cam developed a good chemistry on deep balls and he was a gamebreaker as a punt returner. Really wish we could have found a way to keep him.

Philly I think will be a better deep threat than Ginn. Ginn had too many drops. Missed his punt returning giving us good field position though. We need to address that in a bad way in the offseason