• Welcome!

Register and log in easily with Twitter or Google accounts!

Or simply create a new Huddle account. 

Members receive fewer ads , access our dark theme, and the ability to join the discussion!

I do NOT want Trevor Penning

shaq

I do not want Trevor Penning! He is widely regarded as a first round lock in this years draft, yet his tape suggests highly otherwise. Yes he is a great athlete and people love to praise his “mean streak” but when I watch his tape this only really translates to him getting 16 penalties in 12 games. This was with him playing very below average talent at Northern Iowa as well. This is a clip of him showing his “mean streak” at the senior bowl. 

https://twitter.com/TheoAshNFL/status/1514808264239714319?s=20&t=wfEJR_fUfRu51vDXhxlyVA

If I was a coach and my young LT threw an opposing defender literally right at my QB’s knees, I would instantly pull a Riverboat Ron and not let him see the field. This overly aggressive style of play is a negative, I know we all had to witness Greg Little being a gigantic teddy bear for 2 seasons but over compensating never works. Against senior bowl pass rushers he was exposed, even with this “mean streak” he was still getting bull rushed. He will most likely struggle out the gate in the NFL, I just don’t think his hand usage or leverage is ready. He really does have amazing physical traits and if he does figure it out he could be awesome, but at the end of the day you don’t only draft off upside as this is the range busts mostly fall in. His mean streak has some pros but some really concerning cons. You could talk me into Penning as a third round prospect and maybe a bit higher, but where he’s being projected right now is just too high. We need to invest in this offensive line, we have 3 great options, Icky Ekwonu, Evan Neal, and Charles Cross. Any of those three would be a great pick, especially if we could get one in a trade down scenario. Keep pounding!

• Pie 4